Do you have the keys to tomorrow?

Today I have had the most amazing day – really I have!  I am with school librarians in New Zealand, at the 2011  SLANZA Conference. This Monday morning saw me bright eyed,  ready,  and presenting their first Keynote – to set the foundations for three busy days. Though what I presented was a little different to the slideshare embedded below, the message is much the same…”at last we can make a difference”. You’ll see I broke my rule of having slides with minimal text – simply because with a diverse group of people, the presentation has to include take-away notes complete with reminders and references.

My thanks  to Oxford University Press for sponsoring my visit to the SLANZA conference in New Zealand.

After the morning Keynote  we had some really yummy information-rich workshops throughout the day. What has amazed me most has been the complete passion, camaraderie and willingness to do the seemingly impossible in the most remarkably diverse situations.   My New Zealand colleagues are an inspiration.

What outstanding work by the Committee in making this conference such a success already – and it is only the first day! Follow #slanza11 to pick put the vibe.

2 thoughts on “Do you have the keys to tomorrow?

  1. It sounds like a fantastic experience. We need to keep spreading the word about the work of teacher librarians who do make a difference to the lives of students through their intent of skilling them in a media and literature rich world.

  2. So wish I was doing the three days after today. Surely will be monitoring that hashtag (when not in meetings).

Leave a comment